Masatoshi Nishiguchi

My first blog

Hi, this is Masatoshi Nishiguchi. I am writing a blog post for the first time.

The primary purpose of this is for me to learn how blog works at the moment. That’s it. But I might eventually find out some other purposes that are more fun and more useful for the Internet communities.

I am currently a student studying towards a Computer Science degree at University of District of Columbia in Washington, DC, United States. I am originally from Japan, moved to US in 2011, am happily married to this awesome, beautiful and smart woman that I met here in Washington.

One of the things I am passionate about right now is learn about computer programming. I have been learning programming since the beginning of 2014. Although I have no previous computer background, I am really into it ever since this guy introduced me to coding. He is my rock climbing friend and a professional IT consultant. I was so eager to improve my programming skills that I quit my job and started to focus on programming. I made full use of online resources to learn various programming languages, such as C, Java, Python, Ruby, etc. This is all possible with my wife’s support. In December 2014, my programming skills became improved as good as I was able to release my first Android application, Moving Estimator on Google Play.

Now that I have basic programming skills, I want to be a web developer specializing in Ruby on Rails in a few years’ time. Since I still lack in basic knowledge about computer in general, I decided to properly learn it in the college to complement my skills.

I am so excited about my own future as a developer.